Skip Navigation LinksIstanbul - 2010 English Places To Go Mosques Zal Mahmud Paşa Mosque
Zal Mahmud Paşa Mosque

The Zal Mahmud Paşa Complex was built between Zal Paşa Street and Defterdar Street in the Eyüp district. Zal Mahmud, the Vizier of Suleiman the Magnificient and his wife Şah Sultan, a daughter of Sultan Selim II, had it built by Sinan the Architecture (the grand master of Ottoman architecture). The complex is composed of a madrasa, a fountain, and the tombs of  the builders of the complex. Although the construction date is unknown, the complex is estimated to have been built in 1577. The central area of the mosque, with a dome of 12.40m, is flanked by side galleries. The porch, with its flat ceiling enclosing the middle of the mosque, is supported by four columns. The decorative niche conforms with the classical Ottoman architectural tradition. The inner decoration of the mosque, which underwent renovation between 1955 and 1963, was renewed in the classical style. On the side walls are an arrangement of two distichous window rows at close intervals, which is an unseen style in the other works of Sinan the architecture. The walls of the mosque composed of stone and brick.

The mosque itself, as well as the other structures of the complex, were damaged in an earthquake in the year 1766. The complex was restored during the period of Sultan Mahmud II (1785-1839).  Zal Mahmut and his wife, Esma Sultan, are buried in the complex’s tomb which is covered by an octagonal dome ceiling with a diameter of 5.10m. Additionally, the fountain of the complex is made of cut stones set in a rectangular frame.  

Translated by Mr. Irfan KOKSAL


Skip navigation links
Historical Bath
Historical Bazaar
Historical Fountains
Suleymaniye Complex
Şehzade Complex
Nuruosmaniye Complex
The New Mosque Complex
Edirnekapi Mihrimah Sultan Complex
Rustem Pasa Mosque
Uskudar Mihrimah Sultan Complex
Damat Ibrahim Pasa Complex
Ahi Celebi Mosque
Firuz Aga Mosque
Sultan Ahmed Complex
Hagia Sofia
Kalenderhane Mosque
Zeyrek Church Mosque
Ortakoy Mosque
Valide Mosque
Nusretiye Mosque
Şebsefa Hatun Mosque
Sokullu Mehmed Paşa Complex
Yıldız Mosque
Zal Mahmud Paşa Mosque
Piyale Paşa Complex
Arab Mosque
Beylerbeyi Mosque
Molla Celebi Mosque
Fethiye Mosque
Dolmabahçe Mosque
Küçük Ayasofya Mosque
Mahmut Paşa Complex
Ayazma Mosque
Selimiye Mosque
Laleli Complex
Sultan Selim Complex
Kılıç Ali Paşa Complex
Fatih Complex
Eyup Sultan Complex
Atik Ali Paşa Mosque
Bayezıt Complex
Palaces of Istanbul
Synagogues and Churchs

Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality 2008