Skip Navigation LinksIstanbul - 2010 English Places To Go Mosques Beylerbeyi Mosque
Beylerbeyi Mosque
Beylerbeyi Mosque was founded on the Anatolian shore of the Bosphorus next to the Beylerbeyi quay. It was built by Sultan Abdülhamid I (1725-1789) in 1778 in memory of his mother, Rabia Sultan and designed by the architect Tahir Ağa. After the collapse of the Istavroz (Cross) Palace in the middle of the 18th century, which had previously been standing on the present site of the Beylerbeyi Mosque, the Beylerbeyi Mosque was built on the site of the Hırka-i Şerîf Chamber (private chamber of the cloak of the prophet Muhammad pbuh), which had been carried to Istavroz Palace by Sultan Ahmed I (1590 –1617).

The last prayer section of the Beylerbeyi Mosque was converted into its present state, the single minaret was pulled down, and instead of the previous single minaret, two new minarets were erected on both sides of the mosque during the period of Sultan Mahmud II (1784-1839). Additionally, Sultan Mahmud II added a muvakkithane (time-keeping room) as well as a fountain located on seaside of the complex. The ceiling of the central prayer area of the mosque, which has a size of 14.60 x 14.60m, consists of one large dome and five half domes. The ceiling of the mosque containing the large dome was extraordinarily placed on two pulleys and  the circumscribed circle of the upper pulley with its twenty windows  illuminated the interior of the mosque. A sharp curve, round, curly S-shaped and C-shaped of four different arch samples were used in the mosque. After the fires of 1969 and of March 13th 1983, the mosque was extensively restored twice.

Translated by Mr. Irfan KOKSAL

Skip navigation links
Historical Bath
Historical Bazaar
Historical Fountains
Suleymaniye Complex
Şehzade Complex
Nuruosmaniye Complex
The New Mosque Complex
Edirnekapi Mihrimah Sultan Complex
Rustem Pasa Mosque
Uskudar Mihrimah Sultan Complex
Damat Ibrahim Pasa Complex
Ahi Celebi Mosque
Firuz Aga Mosque
Sultan Ahmed Complex
Hagia Sofia
Kalenderhane Mosque
Zeyrek Church Mosque
Ortakoy Mosque
Valide Mosque
Nusretiye Mosque
Şebsefa Hatun Mosque
Sokullu Mehmed Paşa Complex
Yıldız Mosque
Zal Mahmud Paşa Mosque
Piyale Paşa Complex
Arab Mosque
Beylerbeyi Mosque
Molla Celebi Mosque
Fethiye Mosque
Dolmabahçe Mosque
Küçük Ayasofya Mosque
Mahmut Paşa Complex
Ayazma Mosque
Selimiye Mosque
Laleli Complex
Sultan Selim Complex
Kılıç Ali Paşa Complex
Fatih Complex
Eyup Sultan Complex
Atik Ali Paşa Mosque
Bayezıt Complex
Palaces of Istanbul
Synagogues and Churchs

Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality 2008